Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0172. படுபயன் வெஃகிப் பழிப்படுவ

0172. Padupayan Vekkip Pazhippaduva

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெஃகாமை (Vekkaamai)
    Not Coveting
  • குறள்
    படுபயன் வெஃகிப் பழிப்படுவ செய்யார்
    நடுவன்மை நாணு பவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நடுவுநிலைமை அல்லாமைக்கு அஞ்சுகின்றவர்கள், தமக்கு உண்டாகும் பயனை விரும்பி அறம் அல்லாத செயல்களைச் செய்யார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Through lust of gain, no deeds that retribution bring,
    Do they, who shrink with shame from every unjust thing.
  • Meaning
    Those who blush at the want of equity will not commit disgraceful acts through desire of the profit that may be gained.


Post a Comment