Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1316. உள்ளினேன் என்றேன்மற் றென்மறந்தீர்

1316. Ullinen Endrenmat Renmarantheer

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி நுணுக்கம் (Pulavi Nunukkam)
    Feigned Anger
  • குறள்
    உள்ளினேன் என்றேன்மற் றென்மறந்தீர் என்றென்னைப்
    புல்லாள் புலத்தக் கனள்.
  • விளக்கம்
    'நினைத்தேன்' என்று கூறினேன்; 'என்னை இங்ஙனம் நினைக்கு முன் மறந்தீர்' என்று சொல்லி என்னைத் தழுவாது பிணங்கினாள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Each day I called to mind your charms,' 'O, then, you had forgot,'
    She cried, and then her opened arms, Forthwith embraced me not.
  • Meaning
    When I said I had remembered her, she said I had forgotten her and relaxing her embrace, began to feign dislike.


Post a Comment