Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1315. இம்மைப் பிறப்பில் பிரியலம்

1315. Immaip Pirappil Piriyalam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி நுணுக்கம் (Pulavi Nunukkam)
    Feigned Anger
  • குறள்
    இம்மைப் பிறப்பில் பிரியலம் என்றேனாக்
    கண்நிறை நீர்கொண் டனள்.
  • விளக்கம்
    'இப்பிறப்பில் பிரிய மாட்டேன்' என்று சொன்னபோது, 'மறுபிறப்பிலே பிரிவேன்' என்று பொருள் கொண்டு கண்கள் நிறைந்த நீரைக் கொண்டாள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'While here I live, I leave you not,' I said to calm her fears.
    She cried, 'There, then, I read your thought'; And straight dissolved in tears.
  • Meaning
    When I said I would never part from her in this life her eyes were filled with tears.


Post a Comment