Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1304. ஊடி யவரை உணராமை

1304. Oodi Yavarai Unaraamai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி (Pulavi)
  • குறள்
    ஊடி யவரை உணராமை வாடிய
    வள்ளி முதலரிந் தற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிணங்கிய பெண்களைப் பிணக்கை நீக்கி கூடாதிருத்தல், வாடிய வள்ளிக்கொடியை அடியிலே அறுத்தார் போன்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    To use no kind conciliating art when lover grieves,
    Is cutting out the root of tender winding plant that droops.
  • Meaning
    Not to reconcile those who have feigned dislike is like cutting a faded creeper at its root.


Post a Comment