Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1303. அலந்தாரை அல்லல்நோய் செய்தற்றால்

1303. Alanthaarai Allalnoi Seithatraal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி (Pulavi)
  • குறள்
    அலந்தாரை அல்லல்நோய் செய்தற்றால் தம்மைப்
    புலந்தாரைப் புல்லா விடல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தம்மோடு பிணங்கிய பெண்களைப் பிணக்கினை நீக்கித் தழுவாதுவிடுதல், முன்பே துன்பமுற்று வருந்துகின்றவர்களுக்கு மேலும் துன்பம் இழைப்பது போலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Tis heaping griefs on those whose hearts are grieved;
    To leave the grieving one without a fond embrace.
  • Meaning
    For men not to embrace those who have feigned dislike is like torturing those already in agony.


Post a Comment