Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1264. கூடிய காமம் பிரிந்தார்

1264. Koodiya Kaamam Pirindhaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவர்வயின் விதும்பல் (Avarvayin Vithumbal)
    Mutual Desire
  • குறள்
    கூடிய காமம் பிரிந்தார் வரவுள்ளிக்
    கோடுகொ டேறுமென் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிரிந்தவர் காதலால் கூடும்படி வருவார் என்று நினைத்து எனது மனம் மரத்தின் கிளை மீது ஏறிப் பார்க்கின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    'He comes again, who left my side, and I shall taste love's joy,'-
    My heart with rapture swells, when thoughts like these my mind employ.
  • Meaning
    My heart is rid of its sorrow and swells with rapture to think of my absent lover returning with his love.


Post a Comment