Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1199. நசைஇயார் நல்கார் எனினும்

1199. Nasaiiyaar Nalkaar Eninum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    தனிப்படர் மிகுதி (Thanippadar Miguthi)
    The Solitary Anguish
  • குறள்
    நசைஇயார் நல்கார் எனினும் அவர்மாட்டு
    இசையும் இனிய செவிக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    விரும்பப்பட்டவர் அருள் செய்யாராயினும், அவரிடமிருந்து பிறக்கும் எச்சொற்களும் என் காதுக்கு இனியனவாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though he my heart desires no grace accords to me,
    Yet every accent of his voice is melody.
  • Meaning
    Though my beloved bestows no love on one, still are his words sweet to my ears.


Post a Comment