Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1200. உறாஅர்க்கு உறுநோய் உரைப்பாய்

1200. Uraaarkku Urunoi Uraippaai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    தனிப்படர் மிகுதி (Thanippadar Miguthi)
    The Solitary Anguish
  • குறள்
    உறாஅர்க்கு உறுநோய் உரைப்பாய் கடலைச்
    செறாஅஅய் வாழிய நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    உன்னோடு வந்து சேராதவர்க்கு, உன்னுடைய துன்ப மிகுதியைச் சொல்லப்புகும் மனமே! வாழ்வாயாக; உனக்குத் துன்பம் செய்யும் கடலைத் தூர்க்க முயல்வாயாக.
  • Translation
    in English
    Tell him thy pain that loves not thee?
    Farewell, my soul, fill up the sea!
  • Meaning
    Live, O my soul, would you who relate your great sorrow to strangers, try rather to fill up your own sea (of sorrow).


Post a Comment