Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1172. தெரிந்துணரா நோக்கிய உண்கண்

1172. Therindhunaraa Nokkiya Unkan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கண்விதுப்பழிதல் (Kanvithuppazhithal)
    Eyes Consumed with Grief
  • குறள்
    தெரிந்துணரா நோக்கிய உண்கண் பரிந்துணராப்
    பைதல் உழப்பது எவன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பின் வருவதை ஆராய்ந்து அறியாமல் பார்த்த மையுண்ட கண்கள், அத்தவற்றை ஆராய்ந்தரியாமல் வருந்துவது ஏன்?
  • Translation
    in English
    How glancing eyes, that rash unweeting looked that day,
    With sorrow measureless are wasting now away!
  • Meaning
    The dyed eyes that (then) looked without foresight, why should they now endure sorrow, without feeling sharply (their own fault).


Post a Comment