Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1171. கண்தாம் கலுழ்வ தெவன்கொலோ

1171. Kanthaam Kaluzhva Thevankolo

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கண்விதுப்பழிதல் (Kanvithuppazhithal)
    Eyes Consumed with Grief
  • குறள்
    கண்தாம் கலுழ்வ தெவன்கொலோ தண்டாநோய்
    தாம்காட்ட யாம்கண் டது.
  • விளக்கம்
    கண்கள் எனக்குக் காதலரைக் காட்டியதாலன்றோ இத்தீராத நோயை அனுபவிக்கின்றேன்; இவ்வாறு எனக்கு நோயை உண்டாக்கிய கண்கள் இப்பொழுது அழுவது ஏனோ?
  • Translation
    in English
    They showed me him, and then my endless pain
    I saw: why then should weeping eyes complain?
  • Meaning
    As this incurable malady has been caused by my eyes which showed (him) to me, why should they now weep for (him).


Post a Comment