Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1140. யாம்கண்ணின் காண நகுப

1140. Yaamkannin Kaana Nagupa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நாணுத் துறவுரைத்தல் (Naanuth Thuravuraiththal)
    The Abandonment of Reserve
  • குறள்
    யாம்கண்ணின் காண நகுப அறிவில்லார்
    யாம்பட்ட தாம்படா ஆறு.
  • விளக்கம்
    யாம் அனுபவிப்பது போன்ற காம நோயினைத் தாங்கள் அனுபவிக்காமையால், அறிவில்லாதவர்கள் யாம் கண்ணால் காணும்படி சிரிப்பார்கள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Before my eyes the foolish make a mock of me,
    Because they ne'er endured the pangs I now must drie.
  • Meaning
    Even strangers laugh (at us) so as to be seen by us, for they have not suffered.


Post a Comment