Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1139. அறிகிலார் எல்லாரும் என்றேஎன்

1139. Arikilaar Ellaarum Endreen

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நாணுத் துறவுரைத்தல் (Naanuth Thuravuraiththal)
    The Abandonment of Reserve
  • குறள்
    அறிகிலார் எல்லாரும் என்றேஎன் காமம்
    மறுகின் மறுகும் மருண்டு.
  • விளக்கம்
    எனது காமம், 'எல்லோரும் என்னை அறியாதிருக்கின்றார்கள்; நானே வெளிப்பட்டு அறிவிப்பேன்' என்று வீதியிலே மயங்கிச் சுழலுகின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    'There's no one knows my heart,' so says my love,
    And thus, in public ways, perturbed will rove.
  • Meaning
    My lust, feeling that it is not known by all, reels confused in the streets (of this town).


Post a Comment