Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1076. அறைபறை அன்னர் கயவர்தாம்

1076. Araiparai Annar Kayavarthaam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    கயமை (Kayamai)
  • குறள்
    அறைபறை அன்னர் கயவர்தாம் கேட்ட
    மறைபிறர்க்கு உய்த்துரைக்க லான்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தாம் கேட்ட இரகசியங்களைக் கொண்டு சென்று பிறர்க்கு அறிவித்தலால், கயவர்கள் அடிக்கப்படும் பறையைப் போன்றவராவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The base are like the beaten drum; for, when they hear
    The sound the secret out in every neighbour's ear.
  • Meaning
    The base are like a drum that is beaten, for they unburden to others the secrets they have heard.


Post a Comment