Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1075. அச்சமே கீழ்களது ஆசாரம்

1075. Achchame Keezhkalathu Aasaaram

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    கயமை (Kayamai)
  • குறள்
    அச்சமே கீழ்களது ஆசாரம் எச்சம்
    அவாவுண்டேல் உண்டாம் சிறிது.
  • விளக்கம்
    கீழ்மக்களின் ஒழுக்கத்திற்குக் காரணம் அவர்களது அச்சமே; அதுவன்றி அவர்களால் விரும்பப்படும் பொருள் ஒழுக்கத்தினால் கிடைப்பதாயின் அதனாலும் சிறிது ஒழுக்கம் உண்டாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Fear is the base man's virtue; if that fail,
    Intense desire some little may avail.
  • Meaning
    (The principle of) behaviour in the mean is chiefly fear; if not, hope of gain, to some extent.


Post a Comment