Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1072. நன்றறி வாரிற் கயவர்

1072. Nandrari Vaarir Kayavar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    கயமை (Kayamai)
  • குறள்
    நன்றறி வாரிற் கயவர் திருவுடையர்
    நெஞ்சத்து அவலம் இலர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கீழ்மக்கள், நன்மையை அறிபவர்களை விட மகிழ்ச்சியுடையவர்கள்; ஏனென்றால், அவர்கள் நெஞ்சில் கவலை இல்லாதவர்களாவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Than those of grateful heart the base must luckier be,
    Their minds from every anxious thought are free!
  • Meaning
    The low enjoy more felicity than those who know what is good; for the former are not troubled with anxiety (as to the good).


Post a Comment