Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1016. நாண்வேலி கொள்ளாது மன்னோ

1016. Naanveli Kollaathu Manno

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    நாணுடைமை (Naanudaimai)
  • குறள்
    நாண்வேலி கொள்ளாது மன்னோ வியன்ஞாலம்
    பேணலர் மேலா யவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    உயர்ந்தவர் தமக்கு நாணத்தைப் பாதுகாவலாகக் கொள்ளாமல், உலகில் வாழ்தலைப் போற்றமாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Unless the hedge of shame inviolate remain,
    For men of lofty soul the earth's vast realms no charms retain.
  • Meaning
    The great make modesty their barrier (of defence) and not the wide world.


Post a Comment