Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1015. பிறர்பழியும் தம்பழியும் நாணுவார்

1015. Pirarpazhiyum Thampazhiyum Naanuvaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    நாணுடைமை (Naanudaimai)
  • குறள்
    பிறர்பழியும் தம்பழியும் நாணுவார் நாணுக்கு
    உறைபதி என்னும் உலகு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறர் பழியையும் தம் பழியையும் ஒப்ப அஞ்சுகின்றவர்களை நாணத்துக்கு உறைவிடம் என்று உலகத்தவர் கூறுவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    As home of virtuous shame by all the world the men are known,
    Who feel ashamed for others, guilt as for their own.
  • Meaning
    The world regards as the abode of modesty him who fear his own and other's guilt.


Post a Comment