Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1003. ஈட்டம் இவறி இசைவேண்டா

1003. Eettam Ivari Isaivendaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    நன்றியில் செல்வம் (Nandriyil Selvam)
    Wealth Without Benefaction
  • குறள்
    ஈட்டம் இவறி இசைவேண்டா ஆடவர்
    தோற்றம் நிலக்குப் பொறை.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஈட்டிய பொருளைச் செலவிடாது இருகப்பிடித்துப் புகழை விரும்பாதவரின் பிறப்பு, இந்நிலத்திற்க்குப் பாரமாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who lust to heap up wealth, but glory hold not dear,
    It burthens earth when on the stage of being they appear.
  • Meaning
    A burden to the earth are men bent on the acquisition of riches and not (true) fame.


Post a Comment