Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1004. எச்சமென்று என்எண்ணுங் கொல்லோ

1004. Echchemendru Enennung Kollo

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    நன்றியில் செல்வம் (Nandriyil Selvam)
    Wealth Without Benefaction
  • குறள்
    எச்சமென்று என்எண்ணுங் கொல்லோ ஒருவரால்
    நச்சப் படாஅ தவன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஈகாமையால் ஒருவராலும் விரும்பப்படாதவன், தான் இறந்தபின் இவ்வுலகத்தில் எஞ்சி இருப்பதாக எதை நினைப்பானோ?
  • Translation
    in English
    Whom no one loves, when he shall pass away,
    What doth he look to leave behind, I pray?
  • Meaning
    What will the miser who is not liked (by any one) regard as his own (in the world to come) ?


Post a Comment