Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0910. எண்சேர்ந்த நெஞ்சத் திடனுடையார்க்கு

0910. Enserndha Nenjath Thidanudaiyaarkku

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெண்வழிச் சேரல் (Penvazhich Cheral)
    Being Led by Women
  • குறள்
    எண்சேர்ந்த நெஞ்சத் திடனுடையார்க்கு எஞ்ஞான்றும்
    பெண்சேர்ந்தாம் பேதைமை இல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஆலோசனை செய்யும் மனமும், செல்வமும் உடையவர்க்கு, மனைவியின் விருப்பபடியே நடக்கும் அறியாமை எக்காலத்திலும் உண்டாதல் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Where pleasures of the mind, that dwell in realms of thought, abound,
    Folly, that springs from overweening woman's love, is never found.
  • Meaning
    The foolishness that results from devotion to a wife will never be found in those who possess a reflecting mind and a prosperity (flowing) therefrom.


Post a Comment