Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0909. அறவினையும் ஆன்ற பொருளும்

0909. Aravinaiyum Aandra Porulum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெண்வழிச் சேரல் (Penvazhich Cheral)
    Being Led by Women
  • குறள்
    அறவினையும் ஆன்ற பொருளும் பிறவினையும்
    பெண்ஏவல் செய்வார்கண் இல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறச்செயலும், சிறந்த போருளீட்டலும், இவையிரண்டின் வேறாகிய இன்பச் செயல்களும், மனைவியின் ஏவல்களைச் செய்பவனிடத்தில் உண்டாகா.
  • Translation
    in English
    No virtuous deed, no seemly wealth, no pleasure, rests
    With them who live obedient to their wives' behests.
  • Meaning
    From those who obey the commands of their wives are to be expected neither deeds of virtue, nor those of wealth nor (even) those of pleasure.


Post a Comment