Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0860. இகலானாம் இன்னாத எல்லாம்

0860. Igalaanaam Innaatha Ellaam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    இகல் (Igal)
  • குறள்
    இகலானாம் இன்னாத எல்லாம் நகலானாம்
    நன்னயம் என்னும் செருக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவனுக்கு இகலால் துன்பங்கள் எல்லாம் உண்டாகும்; அதற்கு மாறான நட்பினாலே நல்ல நீதி என்னும் பெருஞ்செல்வம் உண்டாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    From enmity do all afflictive evils flow;
    But friendliness doth wealth of kindly good bestow.
  • Meaning
    All calamities are caused by hatred; but by the delight (of friendship) is caused the great wealth of good virtues.


Post a Comment