Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0859. இகல்காணான் ஆக்கம் வருங்கால்

0859. Igalkaanaan Aakkam Varungkaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    இகல் (Igal)
  • குறள்
    இகல்காணான் ஆக்கம் வருங்கால் அதனை
    மிகல்காணும் கேடு தரற்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் தனக்கு ஆக்கம் வரும்போது இகலை நினைக்க மாட்டான். ஆனால் அவன் தனக்குக் கேடு வரும்போது இகலை எதிர்த்து வெல்ல எண்ணுவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Men think not hostile thought in fortune's favouring hour,
    They cherish enmity when in misfortune's power.
  • Meaning
    At the approach of wealth one will not think of hatred (but) to secure one's ruin, one will look to its increase.


Post a Comment