Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0825. மனத்தின் அமையா தவரை

0825. Manaththin Amaiyaa Thavarai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    கூடா நட்பு (Koodaa Natpu)
    Unreal Friendship
  • குறள்
    மனத்தின் அமையா தவரை எனைத்தொன்றும்
    சொல்லினால் தேறற்பாற்று அன்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனத்தினால் நட்பு கொள்ளாதவரை, எந்த ஒரு செயலிலும் அவரது சொல்லைக் கொண்டு நம்புதல் கூடாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    When minds are not in unison, 'its never; just,
    In any words men speak to put your trust.
  • Meaning
    In nothing whatever is it proper to rely on the words of those who do not love with their heart.


Post a Comment