Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0824. முகத்தின் இனிய நகாஅ

0824. Mugaththin Iniya Nagaaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    கூடா நட்பு (Koodaa Natpu)
    Unreal Friendship
  • குறள்
    முகத்தின் இனிய நகாஅ அகத்தின்னா
    வஞ்சரை அஞ்சப் படும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    முகத்தில் இனியவர் போல் சிரித்து, மனத்தில் தீயவராகிய வஞ்சகருக்கு அஞ்சுதல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Tis fitting you should dread dissemblers' guile,
    Whose hearts are bitter while their faces smile.
  • Meaning
    One should fear the deceitful who smile sweetly with their face but never love with their heart.


Post a Comment