Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0776. விழுப்புண் படாதநாள் எல்லாம்

0776. Vizhuppun Padaathanaal Ellaam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    படையியல் (Padaiyiyal) - Army
  • அதிகாரம்
    படைச் செருக்கு (Padaich Cherukku)
    Military Spirit
  • குறள்
    விழுப்புண் படாதநாள் எல்லாம் வழுக்கினுள்
    வைக்கும்தன் நாளை எடுத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    வீரன் போரில் புண்படாத நாட்களை, தன் வாழ்நாளில் வீணே கழித்த நாட்களாக எண்ணி வருந்துவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The heroes, counting up their days, set down as vain
    Each day when they no glorious wound sustain.
  • Meaning
    The hero will reckon among wasted days all those on which he had not received severe wounds.


Post a Comment