Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0775. விழித்தகண் வேல்கொண டெறிய

0775. Vizhiththakan Velkona Deriya

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    படையியல் (Padaiyiyal) - Army
  • அதிகாரம்
    படைச் செருக்கு (Padaich Cherukku)
    Military Spirit
  • குறள்
    விழித்தகண் வேல்கொண டெறிய அழித்திமைப்பின்
    ஒட்டன்றோ வன்க ணவர்க்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பகைவரைச் சினந்து பார்த்த கண், அவர் வேல் கொண்டு எறிய அப்பார்வையை மாற்றி இமைகொட்டுமாயின், அதுவே அவ்வீரர்க்குப் புறங்கொடுத்தது போலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To hero fearless must it not defeat appear,
    If he but wink his eye when foemen hurls his spear.
  • Meaning
    Is it not a defeat to the valiant to wink and destroy their ferocious look when a lance in cast at them (by their foe) ?


Post a Comment