Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0764. அழிவின்றி அறைபோகா தாகி

0764. Azhivindri Araipogaa Thaagi

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    படையியல் (Padaiyiyal) - Army
  • அதிகாரம்
    படைமாட்சி (Padaimaatchi)
    The Excellence of an Army
  • குறள்
    அழிவின்றி அறைபோகா தாகி வழிவந்த
    வன்க ணதுவே படை.
  • விளக்கம்
    அரசனுக்குப் படையாவது, போரில் வென்று அழிக்க முடியாததாய், பகைவரால் அடிமைப்படுத்த முடியாததாகிப் பழமையாக வந்த வீரமுடையதேயாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    That is a host, by no defeats, by no desertions shamed,
    For old hereditary courage famed.
  • Meaning
    That indeed is an army which has stood firm of old without suffering destruction or deserting (to the enemy).


Post a Comment