Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0763. ஒலித்தக்கால் என்னாம் உவரி

0763. Oliththakkaal Ennaam Uvari

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    படையியல் (Padaiyiyal) - Army
  • அதிகாரம்
    படைமாட்சி (Padaimaatchi)
    The Excellence of an Army
  • குறள்
    ஒலித்தக்கால் என்னாம் உவரி எலிப்பகை
    நாகம் உயிர்ப்பக் கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எலிகளான பகை கூடிக் கடல்போல் ஒலித்தாலும் என்ன தீமை உண்டாகும்? பாம்பானது மூச்சு விட்ட அளவில் அவையெல்லாம் அழிந்தொழியும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though, like the sea, the angry mice send forth their battle cry;
    What then? The dragon breathes upon them, and they die!
  • Meaning
    What if (a host of) hostile rats roar like the sea ? They will perish at the mere breath of the cobra.


Post a Comment