Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0741. ஆற்று பவர்க்கும் அரண்பொருள்

0741. Aatru Bavarkkum Aranporul

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அரண் (Aran)
    The Fortification
  • குறள்
    ஆற்று பவர்க்கும் அரண்பொருள் அஞ்சித்தற்
    போற்று பவர்க்கும் பொருள்.
  • விளக்கம்
    படையெடுத்துச் சென்று போர் செய்பவர்க்கும் கோட்டை சிறந்த துணையாகும்; பகைவருக்கு அஞ்சித் தம்மைப் பாதுகாத்துக் கொள்பவர்க்கும் சிறந்த துணையாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    A fort is wealth to those who act against their foes;
    Is wealth to them who, fearing, guard themselves from woes.
  • Meaning
    A fort is an object of importance to those who march (against their foes) as well as to those who through fear (of pursuers) would seek it for shelter.


Post a Comment