Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0738. பிணியின்மை செல்வம் விளைவின்பம்

0738. Piniyinmai Selvam Vilaivinbam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    நாடு (Naadu)
    The Land
  • குறள்
    பிணியின்மை செல்வம் விளைவின்பம் ஏமம்
    அணியென்ப நாட்டிவ் வைந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    நோயின்மை, செல்வம், விளைவு, மகிழ்ச்சி, காவல் என்னும் ஐந்தினையும் பெற்றிருத்தல் நாட்டிற்கு அழகு என்று கூறுவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    A country's jewels are these five: unfailing health,
    Fertility, and joy, a sure defence, and wealth.
  • Meaning
    Freedom from epidemics, wealth, produce, happiness and protection (to subjects); these five, the learned, say, are the ornaments of a kingdom.


Post a Comment