Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0732. பெரும்பொருளால் பெட்டக்க தாகி

0732. Perumporulaal Pettakka Thaaki

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    நாடு (Naadu)
    The Land
  • குறள்
    பெரும்பொருளால் பெட்டக்க தாகி அருங்கேட்டால்
    ஆற்ற விளைவது நாடு.
  • விளக்கம்
    அதிகப் பொருள் இருப்பதால் பிற நாட்டினரால் விரும்பத் தக்கதாய், கேடில்லாததாய், மிகுதியாய் விளைவதுமாய் உள்ளதே சிறந்த நாடு.
  • Translation
    in English
    That is a 'land' which men desire for wealth's abundant share,
    Yielding rich increase, where calamities are rare.
  • Meaning
    A kingdom is that which is desire for its immense wealth, and which grows greatly in prosperity, being free from destructive causes.


Post a Comment