Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0702. ஐயப் படாஅது அகத்தது

0702. Aiyap Padaaadhu Agaththathu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    குறிப்பறிதல் (Kuripparithal)
    The Knowledge of Indications
  • குறள்
    ஐயப் படாஅது அகத்தது உணர்வானைத்
    தெய்வத்தோ டொப்பக் கொளல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவனது மனத்தில் உள்ளதை ஐயப்படாமல் அறிய வல்லவனைத் தெய்வத்துக்குச் சமமாக மதிக்க வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Undoubting, who the minds of men can scan,
    As deity regard that gifted man.
  • Meaning
    He is to be esteemed a god who is able to ascertain without a doubt what is within (one's mind).


Post a Comment