Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0701. கூறாமை நோக்கிக் குறிப்பறிவான்

0701. Kooraamai Nokkik Kuripparivaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    குறிப்பறிதல் (Kuripparithal)
    The Knowledge of Indications
  • குறள்
    கூறாமை நோக்கிக் குறிப்பறிவான் எஞ்ஞான்றும்
    மாறாநீர் வையக் கணி.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் நினைப்பதை அவன் சொல்லாமலே முகத்தைப் பார்த்து அறிபவன், எப்பொழுதும் கடல் சூழ்ந்த உலகத்தவர்க்கு ஓர் அணியாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who knows the sign, and reads unuttered thought, the gem is he,
    Of earth round traversed by the changeless sea.
  • Meaning
    The minister who by looking (at the king) understands his mind without being told (of it), will be a perpetual ornament to the world which is surrounded by a never-drying sea.


Post a Comment