Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0654. இடுக்கண் படினும் இளிவந்த

0654. Idukkan Padinum Ilivantha

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    வினைத்தூய்மை (Vinaiththooimai)
    Purity in Action
  • குறள்
    இடுக்கண் படினும் இளிவந்த செய்யார்
    நடுக்கற்ற காட்சி யவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தெளிவான அறிவினையுடையவர், தாம் துன்பப்பட நேர்ந்தாலும், அதன் பொருட்டு இழிவான செயலைச் செய்யமாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though troubles press, no shameful deed they do,
    Whose eyes the ever-during vision view.
  • Meaning
    Those who have infallible judgement though threatened with peril will not do acts which have brought disgrace (on former ministers).


Post a Comment