Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0653. ஒஓதல் வேண்டும் ஒளிமாழ்கும்

0653. Ooothal Vendum Olimaazhgum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    வினைத்தூய்மை (Vinaiththooimai)
    Purity in Action
  • குறள்
    ஒஓதல் வேண்டும் ஒளிமாழ்கும் செய்வினை
    ஆஅதும் என்னு மவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மேன்மையுற வேண்டும் என்று விரும்புவோர், தம்முடைய மதிப்பைக் கெடுப்பதற்குக் காரணமான செயலை விடுதல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who tell themselves that nobler things shall yet be won
    All deeds that dim the light of glory must they shun.
  • Meaning
    Those who say, "we will become (better)" should avoid the performance of acts that would destroy (their fame).


Post a Comment