Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0645. சொல்லுக சொல்லைப் பிறிதோர்சொல்

0645. Solluga Sollaip Pirithorsol

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    சொல்வன்மை (Solvanmai)
    Power in Speech
  • குறள்
    சொல்லுக சொல்லைப் பிறிதோர்சொல் அச்சொல்லை
    வெல்லுஞ்சொல் இன்மை அறிந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    தாம் சொல்லக் கருதிய சொல்லை வெல்லும் சொல்லாகிய வேறு சொல் இல்லாமையை அறிந்து, திறமையாகச் சொல்லுதல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Speak out your speech, when once 'tis past dispute
    That none can utter speech that shall your speech refute.
  • Meaning
    Deliver your speech, after assuring yourself that no counter speech can defeat your own.


Post a Comment