Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0643. கேட்டார்ப் பிணிக்கும் தகையவாய்க்

0643. Kettaarp Pinikkum Thagaiyavaaik

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    சொல்வன்மை (Solvanmai)
    Power in Speech
  • குறள்
    கேட்டார்ப் பிணிக்கும் தகையவாய்க் கேளாரும்
    வேட்ப மொழிவதாம் சொல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கெட்டவர்களைத் தன்வயமாக்கும் தன்மையுடையதாகவும், கேளாதவர்களும் கேட்க விரும்புமாறும் சொல்வதே சிறந்த சொல் எனப்படும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Tis speech that spell-bound holds the listening ear,
    While those who have not heard desire to hear.
  • Meaning
    The (minister's) speech is that which seeks (to express) elements as bind his friends (to himself) and is so delivered as to make even his enemies desire (his friendship).


Post a Comment