Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0622. வெள்ளத் தனைய இடும்பை

0622. Vellath Thanaiya Idumbai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    இடுக்கண் அழியாமை (Idukkan Azhiyaamai)
    Helpless in Trouble
  • குறள்
    வெள்ளத் தனைய இடும்பை அறிவுடையான்
    உள்ளத்தின் உள்ளக் கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    வெள்ளம் போன்று அளவற்ற பெருந்துன்பம் வந்தாலும், அறிவுடையோன் அதனைத் தன் உள்ளத்தில் நினைத்த அளவில் கெட்டுப் போகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though sorrow, like a flood, comes rolling on,
    When wise men's mind regards it,- it is gone.
  • Meaning
    A flood of troubles will be overcome by the (courageous) thought which the minds of the wise will entertain, even in sorrow.


Post a Comment