Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0621. இடுக்கண் வருங்கால் நகுக

0621. Idukkan Varungaal Naguga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    இடுக்கண் அழியாமை (Idukkan Azhiyaamai)
    Helpless in Trouble
  • குறள்
    இடுக்கண் வருங்கால் நகுக அதனை
    அடுத்தூர்வது அஃதொப்ப தில்.
  • விளக்கம்
    துன்பம் வரும்போது அதற்காக வருந்தாமல் மனத்துக்குள் மகிழ வேண்டும்; ஏனென்றால், அத்துன்பத்தை நெருக்கி அழிப்பதற்கு அதைப் போன்றது வேறு இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Smile, with patient, hopeful heart, in troublous hour;
    Meet and so vanquish grief; nothing hath equal power.
  • Meaning
    If troubles come, laugh; there is nothing like that, to press upon and drive away sorrow.


Post a Comment