Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0610. மடியிலா மன்னவன் எய்தும்

0610. Madiyilaa Mannavan Eithum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    மடி இன்மை (Madi Inmai)
  • குறள்
    மடியிலா மன்னவன் எய்தும் அடியளந்தான்
    தாஅய தெல்லாம் ஒருங்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    சோம்பல் இல்லாத அரசன், தன் திருவடியால் எல்லா உலகையும் அளந்த திருமால் கடந்த நிலப்பரப்பு முழுவதையும் ஒருமிக்க அடைவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The king whose life from sluggishness is rid,
    Shall rule o'er all by foot of mighty god bestrid.
  • Meaning
    The king who never gives way to idleness will obtain entire possession of (the whole earth) passed over by him who measured (the worlds) with His foot.


Post a Comment