Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0609. குடியாண்மை யுள்வந்த குற்றம்

0609. Kudiyaanmai Yulvandha Kutram

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    மடி இன்மை (Madi Inmai)
  • குறள்
    குடியாண்மை யுள்வந்த குற்றம் ஒருவன்
    மடியாண்மை மாற்றக் கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் சோம்பலை ஒழிப்பானாயின், அவனின் குடும்பத்தை நடத்துவதில் வந்த குற்றங்கள் கெட்டுப் போகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who changes slothful habits saves
    Himself from all that household rule depraves.
  • Meaning
    When a man puts away idleness, the reproach which has come upon himself and his family will disappear.


Post a Comment