Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0564. இறைகடியன் என்றுரைக்கும் இன்னாச்சொல்

0564. Iraikadiyan Endruraikkum Innaachchol

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெருவந்த செய்யாமை (Veruvandha Seiyaamai)
    Absence of Terrorism
  • குறள்
    இறைகடியன் என்றுரைக்கும் இன்னாச்சொல் வேந்தன்
    உறைகடுகி ஒல்லைக் கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    குடிகள், 'எம்மன்னவன் கொடியன்' என்று சொல்லும்படி நடக்கும் மன்னவன், வாழ்நாள் குறைந்து விரைவில் கெடுவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Ah! cruel is our king', where subjects sadly say,
    His age shall dwindle, swift his joy of life decay.
  • Meaning
    The king who is spoken of as cruel will quickly perish; his life becoming shortened.


Post a Comment