Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0565. அருஞ்செவ்வி இன்னா முகத்தான்

0565. Arunjchevvi Innaa Mugaththaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெருவந்த செய்யாமை (Veruvandha Seiyaamai)
    Absence of Terrorism
  • குறள்
    அருஞ்செவ்வி இன்னா முகத்தான் பெருஞ்செல்வம்
    பேஎய்கண் டன்னது உடைத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    காண்பதற்கரிய சமயத்தையும், இனிமையில்லாத முகத்தையும் உடைய அரசனது பெருஞ்செல்வம், பேயால் காணப்பட்டது போன்ற ஒரு குற்றம் உடையது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Whom subjects scarce may see, of harsh forbidding countenance;
    His ample wealth shall waste, blasted by demon's glance.
  • Meaning
    The great wealth of him who is difficult of access and possesses a sternness of countenance, is like that which has been obtained by a devil.


Post a Comment