Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0556. மன்னர்க்கு மன்னுதல் செங்கோன்மை

0556. Mannarkku Mannuthal Sengonmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கொடுங்கோன்மை (Kodungonmai)
    The Cruel Sceptre
  • குறள்
    மன்னர்க்கு மன்னுதல் செங்கோன்மை அஃதின்றேல்
    மன்னாவாம் மன்னர்க் கொளி.
  • விளக்கம்
    மன்னனுக்குப் புகழ் நிலைபெறுதல் நீதியினாலேயாகும். அந்நீதி இல்லையாயின் அவனது புகழ் நிலை பெறமாட்டாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    To rulers' rule stability is sceptre right;
    When this is not, quenched is the rulers' light.
  • Meaning
    Righteous government gives permanence to (the fame of) kings; without that their fame will have no endurance.


Post a Comment