Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0555. அல்லற்பட்டு ஆற்றாது அழுதகண்

0555. Allarpattu Aatraathu Azhuthakan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கொடுங்கோன்மை (Kodungonmai)
    The Cruel Sceptre
  • குறள்
    அல்லற்பட்டு ஆற்றாது அழுதகண் ணீரன்றே
    செல்வத்தைத் தேய்க்கும் படை
  • விளக்கம்
    மன்னன் நீதியாக அரசு செலுத்தாமையால் வருத்தம் தாங்காத குடிகளின் கண்ணீர் அன்றோ, அவனது செல்வத்தை அழிக்கும் கருவி.
  • Translation
    in English
    His people's tears of sorrow past endurance, are not they
    Sharp instruments to wear the monarch's wealth away?
  • Meaning
    Will not the tears, shed by a people who cannot endure the oppression which they suffer (from their king), become a saw to waste away his wealth ?


Post a Comment