Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0548. எண்பதத்தான் ஓரா முறைசெய்யா

0548. Enbathaththaan Ora Muraiseiyaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    செங்கோன்மை (Sengonmai)
    The Right Sceptre
  • குறள்
    எண்பதத்தான் ஓரா முறைசெய்யா மன்னவன்
    தண்பதத்தான் தானே கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நீதி வேண்டியோர் எளிதாகப் பார்த்துப் பேசத்தக்க நிலையில் உள்ளவனாகி, அவர் சொல்லியவற்றை ஆராய்ந்து நீதி செய்யாத மன்னவன், தாழ்ந்த நிலையில் நின்று தானே கெட்டுவிடுவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Hard of access, nought searching out, with partial hand
    The king who rules, shall sink and perish from the land.
  • Meaning
    The king who gives not facile audience (to those who approach him), and who does not examine and pass judgment (on their complaints), will perish in disgrace.


Post a Comment