Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0547. இறைகாக்கும் வையகம் எல்லாம்

0547. Iraikaakkum Vaiyagam Ellaam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    செங்கோன்மை (Sengonmai)
    The Right Sceptre
  • குறள்
    இறைகாக்கும் வையகம் எல்லாம் அவனை
    முறைகாக்கும் முட்டாச் செயின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    உலகம் முழுவதையும் மன்னவன் காப்பாற்றுவான்; அம்மன்னன், தன் செங்கோலைக் குற்றமறச் செலுத்தினால், அஃது அவனைக் காக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The king all the whole realm of earth protects;
    And justice guards the king who right respects.
  • Meaning
    The king defends the whole world; and justice, when administered without defect, defends the king.


Post a Comment