Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0541. ஓர்ந்துகண் ணோடாது இறைபுரிந்து

0541. Oorndhukan Nodaathu Iraipurindhu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    செங்கோன்மை (Sengonmai)
    The Right Sceptre
  • குறள்
    ஓர்ந்துகண் ணோடாது இறைபுரிந்து யார்மாட்டும்
    தேர்ந்துசெய் வஃதே முறை.
  • விளக்கம்
    குற்றங்களை ஆராய்ந்து, எவரிடத்தும் தாட்சணியமின்றி, நடுவு நிலைமையோடு ஆராய்ந்து, குற்றத்திற்குத் தக்க தண்டனையை அறிந்து செய்வதே முறையாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Search out, to no one favour show; with heart that justice loves
    Consult, then act; this is the rule that right approves.
  • Meaning
    To examine into (the crimes which may be committed), to show no favour (to any one), to desire to act with impartiality towards all, and to inflict (such punishments) as may be wisely resolved on, constitute rectitude.


Post a Comment