Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0538. புகழ்ந்தவை போற்றிச் செயல்வேண்டும்

0538. Pugazhndhavai Potrich Cheyalvendum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொச்சாவாமை (Pochaavaamai)
  • குறள்
    புகழ்ந்தவை போற்றிச் செயல்வேண்டும் செய்யாது
    இகழ்ந்தார்க்கு எழுமையும் இல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவுடையோர் உயர்ந்தன என்று கூறியவற்றை மறவாது செய்தல் வேண்டும்; அவ்வாறு செய்யாமல் மறந்தவர்க்கு ஏழு பிறப்புக்களிலும் நன்மை இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Let things that merit praise thy watchful soul employ;
    Who these despise attain through sevenfold births no joy.
  • Meaning
    Let (a man) observe and do these things which have been praised (by the wise); if he neglects and fails to perform them, for him there will be no (happiness) throughout the seven births.


Post a Comment